Board of Directors

Dr. Davuluri Rama Mohan Rao

Executive Chairman

Dr. Davuluri Rama Mohan Rao is the chief promoter of Neuland. He has a Masters in Science from Andhra University, Post Graduate Diploma in Technology from IIT Kharagpur and a PhD in Organic Chemistry from the University of Notre Dame, U.S.A. Prior to founding Neuland in 1984, he had held senior positions in R&D, production and quality assurance at Glaxo India for about ten years and was Director, R&D and QA at another pharmaceutical company. He is a member of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Mr. Davuluri Sucheth Rao

Vice Chairman & Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Davuluri Sucheth Rao has a degree in Mechanical Engineering and holds an MBA in Corporate Finance and Operations Management from University of Notre Dame, U.S.A. He was Production Group Leader in Cummins Inc., U.S.A. and later went on to become a green belt in Six Sigma. He has been actively involved in managing Neuland since 2002, initially as Chief Operating Officer (COO) and then as CEO.

Mr. Davuluri Saharsh Rao

Vice Chairman & Managing Director

Mr. Davuluri Saharsh Rao is an Electrical Engineering Graduate and obtained his Masters in Management Information Systems from Weatherhead School of Management, Cleveland, Ohio, U.S.A. He also secured Master of Business Administration from University of North Carolina, U.S.A. He has worked in the past with Sify Limited in various roles in the Sales organisation. He joined Neuland in 2007, with responsibility for initiating the Custom Manufacturing Solutions (CMS) business.

Dr. Christopher M. Cimarusti

Non-Executive Director

Dr. Christopher M. Cimarusti has completed his PhD in Organic Chemistry from Purdue University, U.S.A. and his postdoctoral research from Columbia University, U.S.A. He has more than 40 years of experience in the field of drug discovery, development and manufacturing, been awarded more than 60 patents and published more than 40 papers in referred journals. Dr. Cimarusti held executive leadership positions at Squibb Corporation and Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMS) in discovery and development. His last position with BMS was as Sr. Vice President, Pharmaceutical Development Centre of Excellence.

Mr. Humayun Dhanrajgir

Independent Director

Mr. Humayun Dhanrajgir is a B.Tech, MI, CHEM (E) by qualification. With 45 years’ experience in the pharmaceutical industry, he has held several senior positions in Glaxo India, including the roles of Managing Director and Executive Vice Chairman. He is a past president of Organisation of Pharmaceutical Producers of India (OPPI).

Mr. Parampally Vasudeva Maiya

Independent Director

Mr. Parampally Vasudeva Maiya is an eminent banker and a Master of Arts by qualification. He had a long career of 32 years with the State Bank of India where he was a General Manager. He was deputed as the Executive Director of SCICI between 1991 and 1993, before relinquishing the position in 1994 to set up the ICICI Bank and become Managing Director. He retired as Chairman & CEO of the Bank in 1998. Subsequently, he was appointed as the Managing Director of Central Depository Services (India) Limited, which he also set up, and relinquished the post in December 1999. He is now a director of four companies including a large nationalised bank.

Dr. Will Gordon Mitchell

Independent Director

Dr. Will Gordon Mitchell is presently Professor of Strategic Management at Rotman School of Management (University of Toronto). He completed his PhD from the School of Business Administration of the University of California, Berkeley, U.S.A. In the past, he was J. Rex Fuqua Professor of International Management at Fuqua School of Business (Duke University), Durham, and Professor of Corporate Strategy and International Business at University of Michigan, U.S.A. He is on the editorial board of several management journals. His teaching and research interests include corporate strategy, alliance strategy and dynamics of the health care industry.

Mrs. Bharati Rao

Independent Director

Mrs. Bharati Rao is currently a nominee director on the boards of SBICAP Ventures Limited, SBICAP Securities Limited, SBI Global Factors Limited, SBI Capital Markets Limited and Suzlon Energy Limited and director on the board of Vijaya Bank, as well as being an advisor to a number of other companies. She has over 40 years of experience in the banking and financial sector, having joined State Bank of India, in 1972. Since then she has held both domestic and international positions and titles, covering areas such as project finance, credit and risk management, development of foreign offices, human resources and mergers and acquisitions.

Dr. Nirmala Murthy

Independent Director

Dr. Nirmala Murthy is currently the founder member and advisor of the Foundation for Research in Health System, a non-government research organisation. She has a Masters degree in Statistics from Bombay University, India, and a doctorate from the Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, USA. She was a faculty of the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, in Public Health Management. She is a specialist in Health Information Systems, monitoring & evaluation of Health & Welfare programmes. She has designed several management training programmes for health care providers working at different levels in the public health system. Currently her work involves using ICT to improve health outcomes among the rural poor. She has published over 50 research papers in journals and books, in the area of her expertise.

Mr. Homi Rustam Khusrokhan

Independent Director

Mr. Homi Rustam Khusrokhan is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India. He has obtained a B. Com (honours) degree from the University of Mumbai and an M.Sc. (Econ.) from the London School of Economics and Political Science. Mr. Khusrokhan has over 40 years’ experience in the corporate sector and a wide experience and knowledge of modern management techniques. He has experience and expertise in pharmaceuticals, agriculture related businesses, international business and mergers & acquisitions. Mr. Khusrokhan has earlier been the Managing Director of Tata Tea Limited, Tata Chemicals Limited and Glaxo & Burroughs Wellcome in India. He was special Advisor the Government-appointed Board of Satyam after he retired from the Tata Group. He was President of the Organisation of Pharmaceutical Producers of India and Vice President of the Bombay Chamber of Commerce and Industry. He has served as an Independent Non-Executive Director on several Boards - Hindustan Lever, LIC Mutual Fund Trustee Company, Tata-AIG Life, Fulford India, ICICI Bank and Strides Pharma Science. He retired from the Tata Group in 2008 and is now a Senior Advisor to Tata Capital’s Private Equity Funds. He is also President of the Bombay Natural History Society, Chairman of United Way, Mumbai and The Employers Federation of India, Western Region, Vice Chairman of the Red Cross in Mumbai and serves on the Board of The Anglo Scottish Education Society.